10 February 2014

Kamusta Pamilya,

 I received the letters this past week from the Jensen family. It made me so happy. I also forgot to mention that I also received the letters from the young women as well. Sorry that I didn’t finish my email last week. Last p-day was a bit busy so i didn’t have as much time to email. I was really surprised to read the emails last week. I am so glad that you are all safe and that there seems to be nothing missing. It is really interesting all the visits the ward is receiving from the leaders. That is so awesome. I didn’t know we had sister missionaries either. Nathan you need to tell me the story. Mom I didn’t know you were still teaching piano lessons. I thought you were done with that but you have a recital coming up? And you were right I also didn’t know that the winter olympics were going on.
The Lord is clearly preparing for something great to happen here in the Philippines. I feel the push for missionary work has never been this strong as it is now. Our mission president continues to set higher goals for us to strive to reach and is changing some rules so that we are spending more time saving souls.
Crying repentance here in Guimaras continues, but there isn’t much progress. Almost everyone that we have found and taught has turned us away. The Barbosa family will not let us into there homes. I saw sister Barbosa the other day in the market and I smiled and waved at her, but she just turned and walked a different direction. This past week Sister Dotillos and I spent time tracting again. I love tracting here because the area is so beautiful and there is so many places to go. On Tuesday and Wednesday it felt like everyone was just letting us in and allowing us to teach them. It was awesome… and most of the people we were coming in contact with were familiar with the elders and they had previously knocked on their doors… and here they are now, allowing us to teach them! We found one investigator, Rose, she said the elders taught her many many times but then she moved so she was never baptized. she doesn’t remember a lot so we are reteaching her everything but it has been such a tender mercy to find her.
When we came to her house I introduced us and then she asked if we were Mormons. usually people turn us away when we say “yes” but after some time she allowed us in. This happened a few times throughout this week. It was really cool.
I still struggle with the language but I recently found much strength through the scriptures. The other day I was reading 2Nephi 33:4  “And the words which I have [spoken] in weakness will be made strong unto them; for it persuadeth them to do good; it maketh known unto them of their fathers; and it speaketh of Jesus, and persuadeth them to believe in him, and to endure to the end, which is life eternal.” One of my greatest weaknesses here is the language barrier and not fully understanding what people are saying all the time, but I am bearing my testimony in the few words that I know how to speak and I know that even by simple and small things, great things happen and they are made strong. I am doing my best, even though my best isn’t perfect, it is enough. It is so important that we do what the Lord asks of us, even if we are weak. He calls us all to the work and who the Lord calls, he qualifies.
Palangga ko kamo!
Sister Jensen
About rachelejensen

Missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Leave a Reply

