24 February 2014

Another week has gone by and Sister Dotillos and I are just enjoying every part of the journey. We continue to focus our efforts on finding and visiting the less active members. We still don’t have many progressing investigators. But yesterday we had an investigator come to church and she is the best. We found her this past week while we were hiking up this big mountain in our farthest area. (our area is as big as Africa) Her name is Sister Violetta, She is in her 50’s and lives all alone because she is sick and can’t be stressed about things or talk to loud. She longs for people to talk to so when we went to her she did most of the talking and I found that she has a strong testimony of prayer. She lives a very simple life and has fully relied on the Lord many times to help her find the money to pay for her medicine. I love her so much, and another great thing about her is that she speaks Tagalog. She is such a strong woman and yesterday she came to church; even though she lives so far away! In order for her to go to church she has to hike down the mountain and walk about 40 minutes to a jeepney terminal to take a 15 minute jeepney ride to the church building. I admire her so much. In sunday school and Relief Society the lessons were about prayer so she had a lot of input in the lessons and shared her experiences with everyone. She was even taking notes down about the lessons. Because we had only taught her once before and didn’t give her a Book of Mormon yet, I gave her one on Sunday and when I did her eyes just started tearing up and she said “this is for me?” then she hugged and kissed me and started looking up the verses of scripture that she took notes of in the lesson. I couldn’t stop seeing her dressed in white clothes and preparing for waters of baptism. I hope and pray that she will continue to progress and prepare for baptism.

Guimaras continues to be such a great and beautiful place. I love it here. It really is one of the most beautiful places on earth.

My mission president continues to push us to work hard and to be the best missionaries that we can be. He has added some more mission rules recently to help us focus more to our purpose and work.

I am continuing to see how the gospel is the key to help me become who I am supposed to be. As a missionary it can be exhausting because most of the time all I see are my weaknesses and my strengths seem to be lost, or are inadequate for the work. But I have to keep on going and I have noticed over time I am seeing my weaknesses grow stronger and stronger and helping me fulfill my purpose here. It takes a lot of work and patience, but I am enjoying the journey as I sometimes make mistakes and learn and grow.

Thank you all for your love and support. Grandpa Jensen I hope that you will get better soon. I am praying for you. I love you both grandma and grandpa Jensen. And grandma Koutz thanks for sending me the blanket. It is perfect!! I love it and sleep with it every night. I am able to sleep a lot better at night. I love you too grandma and grandpa Koutz! Thank you all for everything. I love you all and miss you all so much.

Sister Jensen

About rachelejensen

Missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Leave a Reply

