31 March 2014

Kamusta Pamilya,

This past week was great but we were punted a lot more than usual, nevertheless blessing from Heavenly Father continue to poor down. On Tuesday I had the opportunity of teaching at district meeting. It went great. The topic was the doctrine of Christ and I focused on our purpose as missionaries and how it is our calling to teach and spread the doctrine of Christ. Yesterday I also had the opportunity to speak in sacrament meeting in our branch. It was pretty rough since I have only been studying this language for 3 months, but I think they got what I was saying. I am just glad that it’s over. Today I did run the 10K. It was actually a little bit more than that. It was great and we were able to do it in less than an hour. I made us numbers to pin to our shirts and wrote guimaras run on it and one guy saw it and yelled “yay guimaras.. run run run” It was funny and made us a bit embarrassed about wearing the numbers but we kept on wearing them anyways. It was a great and fun experience. We were so proud of ourselves for doing it. My housemate that I run with has now lost over 60 kilos which is quite a bit of weight. It has been amazing and I  am so glad that I have been able to help her.
Violeta will be getting baptized this Saturday!! I am so excited and she is prepared. I love her so much and she is such a great example. She knows that this is what she needs to do.
There are many things that I have taken for granted. Coming to the Philippines has helped me realized how truly blessed America is. I will never take for granted a washing machine, warm water…. and so on.. and also a lawn mower. I had the opportunity to mow a grass lawn and all that I had to do it was with a pair of scissors. \It took hours but the job got done and it looks better than it did before. At first it was fun because it was a new experience but after a while it got old, but it was still a good opportunity. Just remember that America is sooo blessed, and you are so lucky to have a washing machine. haha
The other day we were in our farthest area and it was night. It was getting close to our curfew and because there are no lights on the streets here it was very dark. At that time there were no tricycles and what we usually do is ride a tricycle from our appointment to a jeepney terminal then take a jeepney home: but there were no tricycles. We waited for a little bit but there was nothing. I told my companion that we should start walking because it was getting late and there wasn’t a tricycle that was coming and we could look for one on the way as we were walking. We ended up having to walk all the way and we didn’t get there till way after our curfew. We were a bit worried that there wouldn’t be a jeepney anymore at the terminal so as we were making our way there we prayed that there would be a jeepney. When we got there, the Lord provided for us. There was one last jeepney with basically only enough room for us that was preparing to leave. It was a blessing.
The gospel is true. enjoy conference. Love you all
Sister Jensen
About rachelejensen

Missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Leave a Reply

