14 April 2014

Kamusta Pamilya,

This past week was great. I was looking forward to General Conference and the talks were so great. I was so grateful to be edified and strengthened by the talks and words of our church leaders and living prophet today. Take what you learned from conference and declare and live it!
This past week I got a new companion. Her name is Sister Punsalan and she is great. She is so skinny, short, and well… Filipino. She is such a great missionary and her testimony is so strong. She struggles a little bit with english so my tagalog language skills will pick up again and progress. Ilongo is still a challenge, but it is normal. The other day I was truly humbled by her. We were tracting and we were able to get into a house a share a message of how we have a Heavenly Father. This lady was old and catholic and she had a firm belief that what we know is wrong. Due to us not fully used to teaching with one another and having a stubborn investigator, the lesson didn’t go too well. She sent us back out the door and told us not to come back. I turn to my companion and said “that was an awful lesson” and then my sweet, innocent companion said “Sister, what is awful?” I was quite surprised that she didn’t know what the meaning was. She knows english pretty well, but at that moment I realized that I was having a negative attitude and that the language that was coming out of my mouth wasn’t uplifting or positive. I put in my mind that I needed to change and have more uplifting and positive language. My companion is so loving and innocent that she does’t even have such words like that in her vocabulary and that I shouldn’t have it in mine either.
The other day a miracle occurred. One of the greatest miracles that can ever happen as a missionary. After I picked up my new companion, we received a text from an unfamiliar number. It read “Sisters, my sister and her children are ready to hear the gospel. Can you meet us tonight at 6? We will be waiting for you.” I couldn’t fully believe what I had read, in the back of my mind I thought that this text wasn’t meant to be sent to us but was for some other missionaries because that happens quite often,  but it wasn’t. The text was for us and I replied with “Yes!” The lesson went great and her family prepared her well. She already knows a lot about our church. Her oldest daughter has already been praying as we do and says that she feels the spirit and love as she prays. As we made the next appointment her daughter requested that we come twice a week instead of just once a week. I am so excited to teach them. The member that gave us the referral is a strong member in a different area but he will be present as we teach them.
Another highlight of the week is that one of the less active members that we have been focusing on for weeks finally came to church yesterday! It was great, she was able to watch the Sunday morning session of General Conference. She seemed happy to be there and I hope she continues to come to church. Next week we will have our district conference so that is something else to look forward to.
I have also seen through the life of one of my new investigators that money does not buy happiness. It truly is all about the family. She understands this and wishes to do all that she can for her family and provide them with the opportunities that life has to offer but they choose not to. They choose to just sit around the house being on the computer and her husband just drinks, sleeps, and watches tv all the day long. She is the first person that I know who has a car and her life is indeed not the best. She is a religious woman and one thing that she said is “He sends people into our lives to help us” I was able to respond with “yes, yes He does, and He has sent us here to help you at this time….” I look forward to continue to teach her and help her find happiness and joy in this life through the gospel.
This past week was one of the most spiritual weeks here on my mission. The experiences and listening to General Conference was so great. I am truly blessed and continue to recognize more blessings and have a more thankful and humble heart. The gospel is true. I love you all.
Sister Jensen
About rachelejensen

Missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Leave a Reply

