12 May 2014

Kamusta Family,
I had a great week. We had a Mission Tour and Elder Ardern and his wife visited us. It was a great experience and I was edified a lot. It was really fun to listen to his accent and receive insight from a General Authority. At the beginning of the meeting he called on me to come up and he asked me what was the happiest moment that I had experienced within the past 7 days. I went up to the pulpit and stood next to him and we just had a conversation. It was great and very exciting. He is a great leader of the church.
On Friday I ran to the wharf again which was nice and refreshing.. I am glad that you were able to run/walk the cannon ball run again. Afterwards we had a community service project. We cleared a lot for one of the members, Brother Rivas. I don’t know if you remember him but he used to be less-active but he is doing really good now! The community service project was great, we pulled out the tall weeds, cleared away some rocks, and picked up a lot of trash. It is nice to serve people in other ways.
Speaking of the cannon run, I was thinking of planning one of those here in Guimaras as a finding activity. Guimaras, especially my area, is a great place to run. A lot of marathons take place here and on the same trail I run everyday… so there are a lot of runners here on the island of Guimaras so I think it it could be a great finding opportunity but so far it has just been a thought in my mind.
Albert is doing great. Yesterday was his first time passing the sacrament and he did a great job. It is one of my favorite things to watch the recent convert’s pass the sacrament for the first time.
We have another very promising and well-prepared investigator. Her name is Paz Bullenten and she is amazing. She is in her 50’s and her 8 year old grandson lives with her. She has only had the book of Mormon for two weeks and is already in Mosiah. The other day she asked “What do I have to do to get baptized?” She is great. Her date is June 7. She has a son who is a member (I’m not sure where he lives but it isn’t on the Panay island) and she already had a Liahona. The cover was of a temple. Her grandson drew the picture of the temple and then gave it to me to keep. He wrote me a little message on the back telling me to come again to teach them next week. I loved it so much and it is so cute. It reminded me of you Nathanael! You drew me a picture of the day you were baptized and wrote me a little message that I love so much.
Another miracle that happened this past week is that I have been searching for a certain less-active. One of my good missionary friends served here before me and he had baptized someone in my area a year ago and wanted me to look after her and help her. After a few weeks I finally found where she lived but she wasn’t there, it turns out that she was living in Iloilo because she was pregnant and was there to be closer to a hospital. (the hospital here in guimaras isn’t the best) Yesterday she came to church, she had given birth to her baby on May 3 and is now back living in Guimaras! I am excited to finally visit her and watch after her. When she came to church I asked her what her name was and when she told me I was so happy when she said her name. I hugged her and told her that I have been looking for her for a long time. I told her about how the Elder I mentioned before told me about her. When I started talking to her she got really happy. I then asked her about her baby and she told me that she named her baby after the Elder but sadly the baby did not live long. She started to cry and I am glad I was there to comfort her. I don’t think anyone knows her situation since she left for Iloilo soon after becoming a member so not many people know of her but she has such a strong testimony.
I have now been in Guimaras for about 5 months and I have seen many blessings and miracles take place in my area. This work truly does bring happiness and the gospel truly does bless lives. I am so grateful for the opportunity to serve here.
I love you all, I love this gospel, and I truly love our Savior, Jesus Christ.
Sister Jensen
About rachelejensen

Missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Leave a Reply

