16 June 2014

Kamusta Pamilya,

Another baptism and confirmation is done! It’s always great to witness investigators get baptized and confirmed. Tregie Roxas was baptized on Saturday. He is 11 years old and will soon turn 12 in July, so I will be able to watch him pass the sacrament for the first time. I love those moments. Tregie was from a part-member family so we have been working hard to make their family complete and have the parents return to church. It was so cool, the father was able to confirm his son, it was so nice to see one of our less active members return and confirm his own son. He could’ve baptized him as well but he wanted one of the elders to do it because of his sickness. The baptism turned out great.
Another great miracle that happened this past week was I saw Sister Paz! (my investigator from Guimaras who was baptized June 7).  I was so excited to see her and hug her! it was the best. She is basically my only investigator who got baptized who is not a kid. Anyways, I was able to talk to her for a while and she is doing amazing! She told me her grandson now has a date for June 28 so she is preparing for that. I was so glad to see her because I wasn’t able to say goodbye to her while I was in Guimaras so it was nice to hug her, talk with her a little bit and say goodbye.
Sad story: my camera broke. There is something wrong with the lens. I just opened it to take a picture and then it made a weird noise and the lens won’t close back down. It just stayed open and I can’t take any pictures with it. So I wasn’t able to get any pictures of the baptism and other stuff. I was talking to some other missionaries and they said that many missionaries have that problem with there camera and from what they said, it is because of the humidity and it just rusts the lens so then it doesn’t close. Supposedly it can’t be fixed, but i’ll see if i can fix it. I hope I can. For the mean time I have no camera.
This past week was my first time giving my zone training. It turned out pretty well. As I was speaking I wasn’t nervous at all and I was able to just speak. Unexpectedly president Aquino came to our zone meeting. No one was expecting him. Right before I get up to give my training, he stands up and chastises us for 20 minutes and asks us all to repent, and then I had to stand up and give my training. I’m actually pretty happy how it turned out. I basically just got up and gave a “chalk talk” about reaching our potential.
Right now in my area we are focusing on finding new investigators that will progress. It’s never easy to find new investigators, but I’m excited to go around more of my area and see new places and faces.
As you have mentioned… this coming week I reach my 1 year mark! It’s crazy and very exciting.
I miss and love you all so much,
Sister Jensen
About rachelejensen

Missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

Leave a Reply

